Matt is an avid historian and writer. He Matt has a doctorate in History and Cultural Studies. Matt draws from his knowledge of historical cultures and events, and combines it with his zest for all things creative. Matt is a man of strong conviction and faith and lives in Perth, Western Australia with his wife and 2 children. 

Lions of the reach

(Rage of Lions – Book 3)

Duchess Amelia’s cutthroat “rats” have saved her hometown, but the new crown prince of the Grand Kingdom, Daven Marcus, now drags her along in a vain winter crusade into the wilderness, seeking the origin of the mysterious invaders from the west. Surrounded by the prince’s toadying lackeys and scheming nobility, Amelia has no allies.

Her captain, Prentice Ash, is far away in the ruins of Fallenhill. With a handful of mercenaries, Prentice must train convicts to be soldiers, turning a criminal rabble into a militia for the Duchess. In his dreams, he has a prophetic vision of rats becoming lions, but before the training can even begin, a traitorous baron traps the entire force in a siege.

With murderous knights outside the walls, and hunger and winter’s cold within, can Prentice somehow turn rats cowering in the ruins into roaring lions? If not, how can Duchess Amelia defend her lands from the venal prince who means to steal the Western Reach out from under her?


More to Explore

Prentice Ash

(Rage of Lions Book 1). Trained as a knight, condemned as a heretic, exiled as a convict, Prentice’s every moment is a struggle just to survive. The Duke is dead and now Duchess Amelia, his young and inexperienced bride, must rule the Western Reach alone.

Rats of Dweltford

(Rage of Lions – Book 2). Victory over the painted invaders was but a prelude to a new conflict that threatens the Western Reach. Led by convict-captain Prentice Ash…